Andrei Gennadiev

Was born in 1947 in Leningrad, where after the graduation from the Art and Graphics pedagogical school he unsuccessfully tried to enter the Leningrad Repin’s Institute of Painting, Sculpture and Architecture where he was refused twice because of his developed art manner which that moment did not conform to formal requirements of Selection Committee.

The historical meeting with Mikhail Shemyakin in 1966 let Gennadiyev to join the “St. Petersburg» Art Group. In 1968 the artist began his exhibition activity and 10 years later he became a member of the Union of Artists of the USSR. In 1974 Gennadiyev was one of participants of the famous exhibition of vanguard Leningrad artists in Gaza House of Culture, and in 1976 in Nevsky House of Culture.

Many times Andrey Gennadiyev was exhibited in Russia, USA, Germany, Austria, Italy, England. He is a member of the Union of Artists of Finland. During the last eight years he held more than 20 personal exhibitions in Finland. Works by Andrey Gennadiyev are in collections of many world museums, including the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts in Moscow, State Art gallery in Heidelberg (Germany) and Metropolitan Museum in New York.

Andrey Gennadiyev's style is based on icon-painting traditions of Old Russian and Byzantine painting, his works are full of signs and the hidden metaphysical meanings. In his creative work the artist seeks to reflect an image of ideal sublime beauty and his way of spiritual searching. The talented theorist and the publicist, Gennadiyev wrote articles that decipher for the viewers the set of symbols embedded in his works. Original texts of the artist are published in several volumes.

Gallery

Андрей Геннадиев

Родился в 1947 в Ленинграде. Там же окончил Ленинградское художественно-графическое педагогическое училище. После его окончания дважды неудачно пытался поступить в Ленинградский институт живописи, скульптуры и архитектуры имени И.Е. Репина, куда его не взяли из-за уже сложившейся к тому моменту художественной манеры, которая не соответствовала формальным требованиям приемной комиссии.

В 1966 году произошла историческая встреча с Михаилом Шемякиным, после которой Геннадиев вступил в художественную группу «Санкт-Петербург». Художник начал свою выставочную деятельность в 1968 году, а спустя 10 лет стал членом Союза художников СССР. В 1974 году Геннадиев был участником известной выставки авангардных ленинградских художников в ДК им. И. И. Газа, а в 1976 году в ДК «Невский».

Андрей Геннадиев неоднократно выставлялся в России, США, Германии, Австрии, Италии, Англии. Является членом Союза художников Финляндии. На протяжении последних восьми лет в Финляндии было проведено более 20-ти его персональных выставок. Произведения Андрея Геннадиева находятся в собрании многих музеев мира, в том числе в Государственном музее изобразительных искусств имени А.С. Пушкина в Москве, Государственной картинной галерее в городе Хайдельберге (Германия) и Метрополитен-музее в Нью-Йорке.

Стиль Андрея Геннадиева основывается на иконописных традициях древнерусской и византийской живописи, его работы полны знаков и скрытых метафизических смыслов. В своем творчестве художник стремится отобразить образ идеальной возвышенной красоты и пути своего духовного поиска. Талантливый теоретик и публицист, Геннадиев самостоятельно расшифровывает для зрителя множество символов, которые он вкладывает в свои работы. Самобытные тексты художника изданы в нескольких томах.

Галерея