Juarez Machado

Juarez Machado was born in 1941 in the city of Joinville, in the state of Santa Catarina, Brazil. He studied at the School of Art in the state of Paranâ, in the city of Curitiba, and participated actively in its artistic movement. In 1966 he took up residence in Rio de Janeiro, intensifying his activities. In addition to painting he also dabbled in illustrating, scenography, sculpture, drawing and engraving.

He has received a number of awards in Brazilian galleries and other international prizes. Machado has been living in Paris since 1986 and has frequently exhibited his works in Europe and the USA.

Selected solo exhibitions:

Selected group exhibitions:

Works are kept in collections:


Both in life, and in art of Machado attracts everything that excites emotions: impetuous jazz, passionate tango, wine, French perfume. All this forces the most secret edges of human nature to appear on its surface. The bohemian way of life full of fun and corporal pleasures which the artist represents in the pictures is what everybody dream of and what many aspire to. However there are not too many who are really able to afford luxury of becoming himself, having given entirely to the feelings and desires. Machado gives to the viewer the chance to peep behind a holiday of life or to become its direct participant – depending on that how viewer is ready to it.

Works of the artist are interesting by harmonious unity of South American rhythms treated in traditions of the European art deco. The hot "earth" palette of Machado is burning with sensuality, and combination of different foreshortenings and improbable poses of dancers setting up an exquisite sounding and expression of the pictures, turning them into refined patterns. His brushwork manner will remind to someone the portraits of Tamara de Lempicka, however, if heroes of the Polish artist are expressly detached from us, then Machado has the "people" inviting to join a fascinating luxury trip.

This carnal world, of Juarez Machado’s works, with dominating of the corporal model of perception, does not exclude spirituality. On the contrary – dance of passion in which men and women on his cloths are turned is the embodiment of sacral essence of life which the artist worships. Machado's creativity is well described by his own words: "Life has only two important points – "before" and "after ". I’m so happy still staying "before!".

Жорез Мачадо

Жорез Мачадо родился в 1941 в городе Джоинвиль, Бразилия. Учился в школе искусств в городе Куритиба. Работал как дизайнер, живописец, иллюстратор, скульптор, сценограф и гравер. В 1986 Французская академия художеств предоставила ему в Париже мастерскую для работы, что говорит о статусе художника. Мачадо – участник более ста персональных и групповых выставок, его работы находятся во многих крупных музеях мира, экспонируются на самых престижных аукционах. Кроме того, он – обладатель множества наград и званий, полученных в разных странах (Бразилия, Франция, Япония).

Как в жизни, так и в творчестве Мачадо привлекает то, что будоражит эмоции: безудержный джаз, страстное танго, вино, французские духи. Все это заставляет самые тайные грани человеческой натуры проступать на ее поверхности. Богемный образ жизни, полный веселья и телесных удовольствий, который художник изображает в своих картинах – это то, о чем мечтают и к чему стремятся многие. Однако мало, кто действительно может позволить себе роскошь стать собой, отдавшись целиком своим чувствам и желаниям. Мачадо дает своему зрителю возможность подглядеть за праздником жизни или же стать его непосредственным участником – в зависимости от того, насколько сам зритель готов к этому.

Творчество художника интересно тем, что южноамериканские ритмы соединяются в нем с традициями европейского ар-деко. Горячая «земляная» палитра Мачадо обжигает своей чувственностью, а совмещение разных ракурсов и невероятные позы танцующих задают особое звучание и экспрессию его картинам, превращая их в изысканные узоры. Его манера письма кому-то напомнит портретные работы Тамары де Лемпицка, однако, если герои картин польской художницы подчеркнуто отстранены от нас, то у Мачадо – это «свои люди», приглашающие в увлекательное путешествие класса люкс.

Для Жореза Мачадо этот мир, прежде всего, телесен, но эта телесная модель восприятия, доминирующая во всех его работах, отнюдь не исключает духовности. Наоборот – танец страсти, в котором кружатся мужчины и женщины на его полотнах, являет собой воплощение сакральной сущности жизни, которую художник боготворит. Творчество Мачадо хорошо описывают его собственные слова: «В жизни всего два важных момента – “до” и “после”. Какое счастье, что я все еще пребываю в моменте “до”!».

Избранные персональные выставки:

Избранные групповые выставки:

Произведения Жореза Мачадо хранятся в собраниях: