Nicholas Lysak

Nikolay Lysak was born in 1951 in Cherkasy (Ukraine). In 1980 he graduated from the Grekov Art school in Odessa. From 1980 to 1982 – he cooperated with the Odessa art fund. He continued training at the Repin Institute of Arts in Leningrad, in a class of Professor B.S. Ugarov (1988). His diploma work "Leningrad symphony" was awarded by the Gold medal of Academy of Arts of the USSR. In 1993 he joined the St. Petersburg Union of artists. Since 1991 he teaches painting and composition at Repin’s Institute of Painting.

Professor, board member of the St. Petersburg Union of artists, he is Honored artist of Russia, Corresponding member of Petrovsky academy of Sciences and Arts, manager and participant of following projects: Portrait gallery of St. Petersburg Governors (Smolny), portrait gallery "Honourable Citizens of St. Petersburg" (Mariinsky Palace); art editor and designer of a series of the catalogs "Masters of the Russian Art".

Nikolay Lysak is the permanent participant of the exhibitions in St. Petersburg and beyond; two personal exhibitions were held in the USA (Valentina's gallery Arth, 2002 and an exposition at Artexpo in New York, 2003).


Images of sensual beauties, graceful ballerinas, serious workers, bouquets of flowers and still lifes – the creative arsenal of the artist is extremely big. The eminent painter created images of several pre-revolutionary mayors of St. Petersburg, Valentina Matviyenko, modern honourable citizens (for the gallery in Legislative Assembly of St. Petersburg) – the astronaut Sergey Krikalev, the football coach Dick Advocaat, the director of the State Hermitage Mikhail Piotrovsky and many other respected persons.

The love to dynamic composition and impressionistic color is characterizing his manner. However the academic severity clearly appears through the freedom of color, – works of the artist are distinguished by the professional hardness of a hand and workmanship of execution.

Gallery

Николай Лысак

Николай Лысак родился в 1951 году в Черкассах (Украина). В 1980 году окончил Одесское художественное училище имени М.Б. Грекова. С 1980 по 1982 год – сотрудничал с Одесским художественным фондом. Продолжил обучение в Ленинградском институте живописи, скульптуры и архитектуры имени И.Е. Репина в мастерской профессора Б.С. Угарова (1988 год). Дипломная работа «Ленинградская симфония» была удостоена Золотой медали Академии художеств СССР. С 1993 года состоит в Санкт-Петербургском Союзе художников. С 1991 года преподает живопись и композицию в Институте имени И.Е. Репина.

Профессор, член правления Санкт-Петербургского Союза художников, Заслуженный художник России, Член-корреспондент Петровской академии наук и искусств (ПАНИ), организатор и участник проектов: галерея «Портреты губернаторов Петербурга» (Смольный), портретная галерея «Почетные граждане Санкт-Петербурга» (Мариинский дворец); арт-редактор и дизайнер серии каталогов «Мастера русского искусства».

Николай Лысак – постоянный участник выставок в Петербурге и за его пределами; две персональные выставки были проведены в США (Галерея Валентины Арт, 2002 и экспозиция в рамках Artexpo в Нью-Йорке, 2003).

Образы чувственных красавиц, изящных балерин, серьезных рабочих, букеты цветов и натюрморты – творческий арсенал художника чрезвычайно велик. Именитый живописец создал изображения нескольких дореволюционных градоначальников Петербурга, Валентины Матвиенко, современных почетных граждан (для галереи в Заксобрании Петербурга) – космонавта Сергея Крикалева, футбольного тренера Дика Адвоката, директора Эрмитажа Михаила Пиотровского и многих других уважаемых лиц.

Для его манеры характерна любовь к динамичной композиции и импрессионистическому свободному колориту. За колористической свободой, однако, не теряется академическая строгость – работы художника отличает профессиональная твердость руки и мастеровитость исполнения.

Галерея